SeaKeepers' Currents

Cruising with SeaKeepers

Fish are Friends Pledge

Leave a comment

"I am a nice shark, not a mindless eating machine. If I am to change this image, I must first change myself. Fish are friends, not food."

“I am a nice shark, not a mindless eating machine. If I am to change this image, I must first change myself. Fish are friends, not food.”

On December 7, I pledged to help raise awareness for my favorite underwater friends by not eating fish for the next 90 days (and hopefully the next 90 days after that).  The inspiration behind the new diet was my rediscovery of Sylvia Earle’s The World is Blue: How Our Fate and the Ocean’s Are One.  (Let’s be honest, I was also motivated by the squad of fish-addicted sharks in Finding Nemo…)

Not only do I adore the taste and texture of fish, I relish in the multitude of health benefits associated with their consumption.  Generally, fish are low in calories and ‘bad’ fat content yet high in Omega-3 fatty acids and protein.  For years, I have avoided species such as sea bass and grouper and I have become quite familiar with the gentle teasing and mocking from those who find my actions futile.  (Friend: “Ah yes, Brittany will have the filet of baby grouper, please.”)

Expanding these restrictions to all species will be the most challenging lifestyle change I’ve ever tackled.  As a pessimistic environmentalist, I highly doubt my choice will in any way affect society’s demand for fish; however, I can no longer dine on fish with a clean conscience.

Here’s the plan: every few days I will post about a certain fishery and explain exactly why I choose not to consume this product. When acquaintances, friends and family ask me why I’m not ordering the sea bass sashimi with yuzu, salmon roe and truffle oil at Zuma, I’d like to have every statistic and fact backed up in hopes of encouraging others to think twice before eating fish.

Leave a Reply

